Follow diplomacyworld on Twitter Follow diplomacyworld on Facebook 



Jad Dittmar




1.      Nuclear Diplomacy I and the rules of standard Diplomacy are the same except as follows.

2.      There are three types of unit in ND-I; armies fleets and nuclear missiles (hereinafter NMs).

3.      During the build season, to acquire more units a player pays CREDITS.

4.      Credits are the economic base of the game.  Each supply center is worth one credit per game year, BUT see Rules 7.

5.      Each player has a public account of credits.  Any player may lend credits to other players. No rule enforces repayment.  BUT see Rulers 32 and 33.

6.      The standard starting positions are used, and each player starts with an empty account.

7.      At the start of the game, each player must designate one of his supply centers as his capital.  The player�s capital is worth two credits per year.

8.      A player may at any time change the position of his capital.  This is done by simply designating the change.  Any supply center under control of the player the previous Fall turn may be that player�s capital.

9.      If a player�s capital is captured, the capturing player treats it as any other center and receives one credit for it.  The player losing his capital must designate a new one the following Spring.

10.  Credits are tabulated after the Fall moves and retreats.  Then, before the Winter adjustments, each player receives his total credits due.

11.  On completion of payment of credits, players adjust their units.

12.  Armies and fleets cost one credit per year and are paid for before the upcoming year.  The starting units are already paid for.  NMs are paid for once only; their cost is three credits each.

13.  During the Winter adjustments, a player may build or disband units, NOT BOTH.  (A player may still disband dislodged units.)  Players must disband units if they do not have enough credits to keep up the payments.

14.  Players may build units in any supply center that is controlled by them.

15.  To build a NM, the player does the same as with other units, specifying the province where the NM will be built.  More than one NM may be in the same province.

16.  NMs may not be returned for the three credits, but may be given to other players as in Rule 31.

17.  A player wishing to fire an NM wires an order in the form like those for any and fleet orders.  If more than one NM is in the starting province, the player must specify which is being fired.  E.G.:  NM2 Par-Mun.

18.  When an NM is sent to a province, the units in that province are destroyed (sea spaces included).

19.  The destruction of a space lasts for one turn � the turn on which the NM was fired.  If an NM lands in Gascony in Spring, units may move freely to Gascony in Fall.

20.  Rule 18 takes effect after completion of a move with retreats; thus, units moving out of a destroyed province on the same turn, and any unit forced to retreat from the province on the same turn, are not destroyed.

21.  Any support being given from the destroyed space on the same turn is null and void.

22.  Units may NOT retreat to a space destroyed on the same turn.

23.  If an NM is fired into a sea space where an army is being convoyed, the army holds in its starting space and the fleet is destroyed.

24.  If an NM is fired into a space where an NM is located, that NM is destroyed.

25.  If an NM is fired into a supply center owned by any power, the center becomes neutral.  It can be reclaimed.  If it was a home center and is reclaimed by the power whose home center it was, it becomes a home center again.

26.  If the center is a capital, the player whose capital it was must designate a new one next turn.  Note that this may cause a player to get fewer credits on a particular Fall turn.

27.  If two or more NMs are sent simultaneously to the same space, the effect is as if only one missile hit the space.

28.  If two or more NMs are sent to each other�s spaces, they hit it mid-air and destroy themselves with no damage on the ground.

29.  If two NMs from one space are sent to a space from which one NM is coming to the first space, one missile on each side collides in mid-air; the third goes on.

30.  If an NM is sent to one space, and another NM is sent from the latter space to a third space, both moves go through.

31.  To lend credits, a player must specify the number of credits lent and the country being lent to.

32.  A lender of credits MAY make his loan conditional on what is to be done with the money.  Once units are built using lent money, however, the lender has no control over the units.

33.  If a player captures a space where an NM is located, he also captures the missile.

34.  A player may exist in the game without supply centers or without units, but not without both.

35.  Once an NM has been built, it stays in the province in which it is located until fired.

36.  In face-to-face play, the author suggests that NMs be represented on the board using sideways fleet pieces.


Questions or comments may be sent to Jad Dittmar, 1235 Birth Board, Homewood, IL  60430, USA.